Scene into Shapes

This is the scene I choose to do for my abstract scene. I was drawn to it because it has varying depth as well as some fairly rectangular and boxy shapes I felt I would be able to replicate. When I sat down and was looking at this picture I noticed that there was a lot I wouldn’t be able to include. The spices on the stove in the back, the cereal on the fridge and the lighters and mask on the table seemed as if I would put too much detail in them and ruin the point of this assignment.

This is my first sketch. I decided to start with the wall closest to me and work my way up from the bottom right corner up and out across the page. I tried to draw in layers to catch depth and to not forget any important items. While i was working on the kitchen window I accidentally messed up and made the top line extend to the wall when it shouldn’t. I think the hardest part for me to translate was depth. I made an attempt at shading with lines that did not pan out how I wanted to as well as I feel I put too much detail in the stove with the dials. It stands out like a sore thumb you look at it and automatically know its a stove.

I showed the first sketch to my roommate and he thought it was very good but pointed out that the door, cabinets, and shading were a little out of place. I decided this time to not look as the shapes of what i was drawing this time but the visible lines where color and light change. I still started with the same wall but decided not to try any shading (although I made one poor decision to at the end) and focus on the shapes portrayed. I knew that squares, rectangles and right angles would dominate this piece and I was fine with that because I felt it would help me establish my scale on paper. I decided not to do any detail and not worry about the open space i was leaving. All in all I am very proud of my work. I am not a very skilled artist but I enjoyed taking my time and working on a style that I am not used to and forcing myself to learn new techniques.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started